## Acknowledgements

The Editors wish to thank their Research Assistants, Catherine Kelso and James Hutton, for their dedication and tremendous efforts in preparing this manuscript for publication. They would also like to thank the Australian National University which, through a grant from the former Vice-Chancellor's Plan for Growth, provided the funding support for this project. Special thanks go to Professors John Braithwaite and Hilary Charlesworth for their support and work in obtaining the funding which enabled the project to proceed, to the Faculty of Law for its support during the project, and to Flinders University for granting leave so that Professor Corcoran could participate in the project. Finally the editors would like to thank the Dean of Law, Professor Michael Coper, for his personal support and all of their colleagues who participated in the project, including those visitors from around Australia and overseas who gave seminars and shared their individual expertise with the ANU legal community.

Suzanne Corcoran Stephen Bottomley April 2005

# Contributors

## **Professor Peter Bailey**

Adjunct Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University; formerly Deputy Chair and CEO of the Human Rights Commission.

#### **Dr Juliet Behrens**

Reader in Law, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

#### **Professor Stephen Bottomley**

Professor of Commercial Law and Director of the Centre for Commercial Law, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

## **Professor Simon Bronitt**

Professor of Law and Director of the National Europe Centre, The Australian National University; Associate of the Australian Institute of Criminology.

## **Professor Tom Campbell**

Professorial Fellow, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, Charles Sturt University; formerly Professor of Law and Dean, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

#### **Professor Hilary Charlesworth**

Professor of International Law, Regulatory Institutions Network, Research School of Social Sciences and Professor of International Law and Human Rights, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University; Chair of the ACT Government's Bill of Rights Consultative Committee (2002-2003).

#### **Mr Anthony Connolly**

Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

### **Professor Suzanne Corcoran**

Emeritus Professor of Law, Flinders University; Visiting Fellow, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

#### CONTRIBUTORS

#### **Dr Thomas Faunce**

Senior Lecturer in Medicine, and Lecturer in Law, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

## Hon Justice Paul Finn

Judge of the Federal Court of Australia; formerly Professor of Law and Director of the Law Program, Research School of Social Sciences, The Australian National University.

### Ms Miriam Gani

Lecturer in Law, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

### **Professor Phillipa Weeks**

Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, The Australian National University.

## **Professor Leslie Zines**

Emeritus Professor of Law and University Fellow, The Australian National University.