Acknowledgments

It was Tim Bonyhady who alerted us and other colleagues at the Australian National University that a celebration of Dennis Pearce's extraordinary contributions to Australian public law was well overdue. Tim's leadership in planning and running the subsequent conference in honour of Dennis, held in Canberra in October 2014, made this publication and our involvement in it possible. Thank you, Tim.

Our colleagues, Leighton McDonald (who also suggested 'the age of statutes' as an organising theme) and James Stellios, provided great assistance in developing and organising the conference from its conception to its execution, clarifying its theme, contacting speakers, and otherwise ensuring its success.

Kim Rubenstein, the Director of the ANU's Centre for Public and International Law, kindly agreed to integrate the conference into the Centre's annual Public Law Weekend. She also provided valuable input at the organisational stage, including the process of identifying and inviting speakers.

Our gratitude goes to the eight authors of the chapters of this book who served as presenters at the conference. Their participation rendered the conference a great success. The essays they subsequently provided us with were ones any academic editor would be proud to have in their collection. We are also grateful for their cooperation over the course of the editing process.

We thank the Chairs of the four sessions of the conference – Kim Rubenstein, Harry Geddes, Robin Creyke, and Stephen Argument – not only for introducing and managing the sessions but also for providing their own recollections of and tributes to Dennis and his work.

Stephen Bottomley, the Dean of the ANU College of Law, readily agreed to make available to the conference the resources of the College's Outreach and Administrative Support Team. For his support we are grateful. Our thanks also go to Wendy Mohring, Kristian Draxl, and Sarah Hull for their valuable assistance in organising the detailed logistics of the conference. It was not only impeccably run but was also a highly enjoyable experience for all those participating.

We are grateful to HWL Ebsworth Lawyers for their generosity in sponsoring the conference which laid the foundations for this book.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Thanks also go to LexisNexis Australia for agreeing to celebrate the publication of the 40th anniversary edition of Dennis Pearce and Robert Geddes, *Statutory Interpretation in Australia* in conjunction with the conference and to His Honour Chief Justice Robert French for launching that book so entertainingly.

Thank you to The Federation Press for agreeing to publish this collection of essays – especially Jason Monaghan, Josephine Romeo, Kathryn Fitzhenry and Elizabeth Browne who provided wonderful editorial and other assistance.

Finally, of course, our thanks must go to Dennis. He not only agreed to suffer the prospect of a conference and book in his honour but was persuaded to offer valuable assistance and suggestions along the way. Any success the conference or this collection might claim finds its ultimate source in him. We are proud to have played our small part in celebrating Dennis and his many achievements over the years as a lawyer, scholar, public servant, mentor, and friend. Thank you, Dennis.

Notes on Contributors

Margaret Allars is a Senior Counsel of the New South Wales Bar and holds a fractional personal chair in the Faculty of Law, University of Sydney, where she teaches postgraduate courses in administrative law.

AJ Brown is Professor of Public Policy & Law and program leader, Public Integrity & Anti-Corruption in the Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Griffith University, Brisbane. He is also a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law, and a member of the Board of Directors of Transparency International Australia.

Stephen John Gageler was appointed to the High Court in October 2012. At the time of his appointment he was Solicitor-General of Australia. He is a graduate of the Australian National University and has postgraduate qualifications from Harvard University. He was admitted as a barrister of the Supreme Court of New South Wales in 1989 and was appointed Senior Counsel in 2000. Before his appointment as Solicitor-General in 2008, he practised as a barrister extensively throughout Australia principally in constitutional law, administrative law and commercial law.

Susan Kenny is a judge of the Federal Court of Australia. She became a Judge of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Victoria in 1997, having been a member of the Victorian Bar since 1981. She practised primarily in public law, including constitutional and administrative law, and is a Presidential Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal. She was President of the Administrative Review Council from 1993 to 1996, a Part-time Commissioner of the Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission from 1996 to 1997 and a Part-time Commissioner of the Australian Law Reform Commission from 2003 to 2012. Her extra-curial writing includes chapters and articles on the emergence of Australian nationhood, federal courts and national identity, refugee resettlement cooperation, concepts of judicial responsibility, statutory interpretation, processes of law reform, and secrecy provisions.

John McMillan AO is an Emeritus Professor at the Australian National University. He is an ANU graduate and taught administrative and public law in the ANU College of Law from 1983 to 2003. John has held the statutory positions of Commonwealth Ombudsman (2003-2010),

NOTES ON CONTRIBUTORS

Integrity Commissioner (Acting) for the Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity (2007), Australian Information Commissioner (2010-2015), NSW Ombudsman (Acting) (2015-), and member of the Australian Copyright Tribunal (2015-).

Linda Pearson is a Commissioner of the Land and Environment Court of New South Wales, and a Senior Visiting Fellow, Faculty of Law University of New South Wales. Before her appointment as Commissioner in 2009 Linda taught Administrative Law and Environmental Law at the Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales. She is a former member of the Administrative Review Council, and a former member of a number of tribunals including the Migration Review Tribunal, Social Security Appeals Tribunal, and the Administrative Decisions Tribunal of New South Wales (now part of the New South Wales Civil and Administrative Tribunal).

Cheryl Saunders is a Laureate Professor Emeritus at Melbourne Law School and the founding Director of its Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies. She is co-editor of the Public Law Review, a President Emeritus of the International Association of Constitutional Law and a former President of the Administrative Review Council of Australia. Her research and teaching interests lie in Australian and comparative public law.