Acknowledgments

The essays that make up this book began as contributions to a workshop we organised in October 2015 to reflect on the 40th anniversary of the publication of the Law and Poverty Report of the Poverty Commission in 1975. We were privileged to have Ronald Sackville AOQC, former Commissioner and primary author of the Report, to present his reflections on the contribution made by it to law reform. We thank the former Attorney-General of New South Wales, the Honourable Gabrielle Upton MP, for formally opening the workshop. Many others helped to bring the book to fruition. First, the workshop was made possible by a grant from the Faculty of Law of the University of New South Wales. It was also supported by the Australian Human Rights Centre (AHRCentre). Special thanks are due to Di McDonald, AHRCentre Manager, who provided much needed advice and assistance in the planning and organisation of the workshop. And we are very grateful to Natalie Vigliotta for administrative and catering services. We also benefited from the Faculty's generosity in providing the venue, and we thank our IT specialist, Chris Katselas, who ensured the smooth delivery of all the presentations, including a Skype presentation from Norway. In addition to all our presenters, who responded in a timely and attentive way to our many requests for drafts, amendments and edits, we would like to thank our commentators on the papers, Professor Prue Vines from UNSW Law, Associate Professor Thalia Anthony (University of Technology Sydney) and Gerard Thomas (Welfare Rights Centre).

Finally, we are indebted to The Federation Press for undertaking this project with us and, in particular, to Kathryn Fitzhenry and Jason Monaghan who have guided us through the various stages of the publication with delightful ease.

> Andrea Durbach, Brendan Edgeworth, Vicki Sentas, Faculty of Law, UNSW, Sydney 9 March 2017

About the Contributors

Fiona Allison is Adjunct Research Fellow at The Cairns Institute, and Faculty of Business, Law and Creative Arts at James Cook University.

Eileen Baldry is Professor of Criminology, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences UNSW Australia and Academic Chair, UNSW Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Board.

Professor Larissa Behrendt is Director of Research at the Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at the University of Technology, Sydney.

Carolyn Bond AO is a consumer advocate and policy adviser. She has run Consumer Credit Legal Service (Victoria) and was co-Chief Executive Officer of the Consumer Action Law Centre.

Ross P Buckley is the CIFR King & Wood Mallesons Professor of International Finance Law, and a Scientia Professor at UNSW Australia.

Chris Cunneen is Professor of Criminology in the School of Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, UNSW Australia.

Professor Julian Disney AO is Director of Anti-Poverty Week and TaxWatch.

Professor Andrea Durbach is Director of the Australian Human Rights Centre, Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia and was a board member of the NSW Legal Aid Commission from 2007 to 2016.

Professor Brendan Edgeworth teaches in the Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia. He was a board member of the Tenants' Union of NSW from 2004 to 2012.

Associate Professor Beth Goldblatt teaches in the Faculty of Law, University of Technology, Sydney.

Dr Cassandra Goldie is Chief Executive Officer at the Australian Council of Social Services.

Dr Jed Horner is Project Director for the Sexual Orientation and Human Rights project at the Australian Human Rights Centre, Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia.

Associate Professor Malcolm Langford teaches in the Faculty of Law, University of Oslo and is Co-Director of the Centre on Law and Social Transformation, Chr Michelsen Institute and University of Bergen.

Anthony O'Donnell is Senior Lecturer in the School of Law, La Trobe University.

ABOUT THE CONTRIBUTORS

Ronald Sackville AO QC is Acting Judge of Appeal of the New South Wales Supreme Court. He was Commissioner of the Poverty Commission in 1975.

Peter Saunders is Research Professor in Social Policy in the Social Policy Research Centre at UNSW Australia and was Director of the Centre from 1987 to 2007.

Melanie Schwartz is Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia.

Dr Vicki Sentas is Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia.

Professor Wouter Vandenhole is Director of the Law and Development Research Group, Faculty of Law, University of Antwerp (Belgium).

Scarlet Wilcock is a PhD candidate in the Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia and a member of the Board of Directors, Welfare Rights Centre, Sydney.